Visitor Reviews of Strathallan Guest House - Overall Rating 3.9

Ann stockton, Yorkshire - 12th December 2015
Rating

Comment

A large very clean room with plenty of towels and good tea making Facilities Owner and staff very pleasant and very accommodating and even gave my Student son free breakfasts We would definitely stay again

Location

Indian and Pizza restaurants just down the road are very good but book first if Friday or Saturday evenings as they are popular Good Xmas shopping Xmas markets and craft fairs are really good


Laura Gentile - 21st October 2015
Rating

Comment

When we came into our room I thought I was dreaming, it was huge and had a very special architecture. The value for money was excellent and the location perfect as it is situated near a very lively street, very close to shops, coffee houses and the old town. Buses leave you almost right in front of the main door. Eamonn and his team are spectacular. They were so naturally kind, generous, helpful and very patient. If you love breakfast this is the place to go, it was made with so much love and dedication.

Location

There are so many as you walk along, it is always a question of taste, but as we were specifically looking for a flat to rent whilst our stay we only had time to visit the Surgeons' Hall, which was fantastic, morbid but highly interesting.


Bergamo Emiliano, Italy - 11th October 2014
Rating

Comment

perfect breakfast, very beautiful room and very good position in the city, we reached the center by walk

Location

from this B&B you can see all the most important attractions in Edimburgh, castle, museums, and a very beautiful park is just near the B&B


Linda Semco, Milton, NH USA - 20th September 2014
Rating

Comment

This guesthouse is everything you would expect in a B&B. Very comfy and cozy. Our twin room was on the second floor and very clean. The bathroom was next door to our room which was not an issue as it was for our exclusive use. All other rooms were ensuite. Very hearty breakfasts were served in the dining room which was bright and cheerful. We were given keys for our room and the front door so we could come and go as we pleased. Public transportation is at either end of the block, how easy is that. The bus stops list the bus numbers (note: each bus only stops at particular bus stands so you have to read the signs carefully)and tells you how soon the next bus is expected. The Royal Mile and Waverly Court (which is the train station) is only a 10 minute bus ride straight north and from there you can get to other bus routes. There are shops and restaurants in the area. Would definitely stay here again!

Location

There is so much to do and see in Edinburgh. We toured Edinburgh Castle and St. Giles Cathedral. Walked and shopped the Royal Mile. Spent a couple of hours at the Royal Botanic Gardens. Climbing Arthur's Seat was on our itinerary but we did not make it there. Had lunch at #1 High Street which was delicious. One evening my friend and I had dinner at an Italian restaurant down the street from the Guesthouse. It was called Positano's. Do Not Go There! We had called ahead to make a reservation. The person who answered was a bit curt and said they were very busy but could probably get us in so we walked over. The restaurant was small, maybe 12-15 tables, and the first thing to hit us was the smell of burned food. I don't think I've EVER experienced that before in a restaurant. My eyes and throat were stinging by time we finished. The second thing we noticed was a number of empty tables. The owner/waiter lead us to one of the empty tables. Within minutes several parties walked in off the street, with no reservations, and were promptly seated. Guess they weren't as busy as previously mentioned. The rest of our time there was a disaster. The owner/waiter (who behaved as if he'd mainlined caffeine) explained that the head chef called in sick. Then he told us the kitchen was running out of certain foods. My meal consisted of veal with no side dishes at all. The table next to us ordered a lasagna-type dish and the entire top of it was burned black. The owner/waiter explained to them that was how the dish was served! We complained about our food but when the check came there was no adjustment made. By that time we just wanted to get out into fresh air so we paid the bill and left.


I Held - 2nd August 2014
Rating

Comment

No comment supplied

Location

No comment supplied


George Tsagkarakis, Greece - 14th November 2013
Rating

Comment

- Very nice, clean and comfortable bedroom. - Value for money. - Kind, friendly and warm staff.

Location

The whole city is wonderful but look for the small traditional "corners" of the old city centre.


Mr James Wilson, Aberdeen - 30th October 2013
Rating

Comment

Value for money, clean airy and comfortable rooms and the breakfast was good

Location

There are plenty in Edinburgh, we visited the Royal Yacht Brittania which was very good and informative. we also walked princes street and Rose street. Evening eating in Victoria on Lieth Walk was excellent.


Adair Bastin, Vancouver, BC - 13th August 2013
Rating

Comment

The room was large and thankfully there was a window in the bathroom as well. Due to a heatwave, the air flow was helpful at night. Our host was great to talk with and the breakfasts were delicious.

Location

Arthur's Seat, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, Rabbie's Tours


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Strathallan Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.