These reviews are the subjective opinions of visitors who have previously stayed at the establishment advertised. Note: Opinions are not those of UK Accommodation Index Limited.


Ratings Guide :

Outstanding
Excellent
Good
Acceptable
Poor
A - Z Accommodation in
Edinburgh
See Also:
Accommodation in Scotland


Visitor Reviews of Northumberland House - Overall Rating 3.4

Jan Back, Kungshamn, Sweden - 14th May 2015
Rating

Comment

Nice place and a wonderful, and very helpful staff. The rooms were ok too. Thanks for a good stay. Jan bäck

Location

The whisky experience was really something special. And our tour to Glenkinchi distillery was good.


hans bamelis, Belgium - 2nd January 2015
Rating

Comment

Excellent value for money. Small room, at the backside very quiet, providing all necessary. Helpfull personnel.Within walking distance from city center (half hour)and jogging on Arthurs Seat.

Location

No comment supplied


Deb Travers, Okehampton, Devon - 10th August 2014
Rating

Comment

We were here for the Fringe and also to see the Tattoo so this hotel was just fine for us. Very friendly staff and ideal location being only a short bus ride from city centre. The hotel is on the main road but we had a room at the back which was very quiet. One of our party was poorly one day and stayed in bed, the staff were lovely and popped up to check he was ok. Edinburgh was fabulous and we hope to return next year, will be happy to stay here again.

Location

No comment supplied


Paul Moakler - 19th July 2014
Rating

Comment

The twin room we were allocated featured a communicating door, bolted on our side and bearing the legend : Do not open - private set in the wall between it and the adjoining room. The accommodation was effectively shared with the occupants of adjoining room 3, for conversation and TV could be heard effortlessly until well after midnight and intermittently through the small hours. After three sleepless nights we asked for a change of room. The management were sympathetic and helped us to move to another and this time excellent room. In all other respects I would rate the hotel Good.

Location

No comment supplied


cheryl, Durban, South africa - 8th September 2010
Rating

Comment

Didn't think it was quite 3star but clean, comfortable. Pity there isn't a small coffee shop/light meals on the premises - breakfast was pleasant and sufficient. No lift, stairs meant logging luggage up, struggling through fire doors. reception staff friendly & helpful.

Location

Edinburgh is a fantastic city, easy accessible from the hotel, we used the hotel parking for our hired car & also caught the frequent bus service from outside the hotel to visit the very busy city.


gwen - 22nd August 2010
Rating

Comment

more like a hostel than an hotel. grimy rooms, frayed curtains. not cleaned properly, rock hard towels, no food available, no bar.breakfast was appalling. we had to hunt round other peoples debris to find clean crockery and cutlery.the terrace was disgusting,faded dirty plastic chairs in a heap in a corner.the manager was arrogant, he knew we couldn't go anywhere else because of the festival. all in all terrible.

Location

No comment supplied


anne salamin - 4th July 2010
Rating

Comment

quite noisy and rather far from the city centre. But warm welcome and rather good breakfast (no hot chocolate for the kids)

Location

No comment supplied


Doerte Deppermann, Germany - 1st June 2009
Rating

Comment

The Hotel and room was clean. However, the breakfast could have been a British one for the price charged

Location

Location was good. For walking to the city center it was a bit too far. But busses were going to the city center every 5 minutes.


1 | 2 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Northumberland House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.