Visitor Reviews of Lauderville Guest House - Overall Rating 4.1

Stephen Lewsley - 23rd December 2015
Rating

Comment

Hosts Brian and Yvonne along with their son were most obliging and welcoming. The Breakfast was really good, rooms clean and warm with all extras. We needed for nothing!.

Location

The Scottish national Museum, it has to be said, is far better than that in London!.


Ronald Bruegmann, Hamburg/Germany - 6th October 2015
Rating

Comment

Overall excellent hospitality and service of the family-owned business, thus great value for money. + Cooked breakfast, furniture & decoration of public & guest rooms, modern ensuite bathroom, service attitude of the whole team. 0 Walking Distance from city centre (Royal Mile) about 25 minutes (buss service available though), size of my single room. - Guest rooms oriented to the front of the house suffer from street noise, sink in bathroom is very small.

Location

No comment supplied


Jennifer Thomas, Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK - 26th August 2015
Rating

Comment

The single room was on the first floor. Front of the house. Traffic noise. Breakfast lots of choice. Hospitality very good. Comfortable bed. Edinburgh Festival during our short stay, therefore, should imagine the price was fair.

Location

Had a Majestic Bus tour, visited the Botanical Gardens. Continued the tour to the end. Used the same day ticket near the end of the time to return to our relevant bus stop on the Mound. The next day we used a day bus ticket, but forgot to pick up a bus time table! We knew buses no. 47 and 42 routes travelled to Mayfield Road, but could not find the right bus stop to stand at. The people we asked were extremely helpful, especially one young man with a telephone app. Bus 24 took us to 100 Mayfield road. The Edinburgh Tattoo was amazing. Beautiful weather, and thrilling performance. The Fringe Festival has many acts to choose from, with two different programmes, if I can advise anyone when planning on being in Edinburgh during the Festival, I shall say "choose the place to stay close to the centre, and prep up with acts available during your stay". We stumbled on two different venues, The Piano in Fredrick street, Lovely singer and pianist. Then the Spiegel Tent where we were able to get tickets for the Cabaret. I would have liked to have found other places but getting from place to place was a bit daunting for two OAP's with no idea of bus routes to take to get from one street to another further away! The French Restaurant in Fredrick street served a lovely Mushroom dish. Our Mayfield street had a lovley pub called "The Old Bell" where we had Haggis, then the next night, Lovely Lamb. I would be good for Guest Houses further from the centre of Edinburgh to have bus map and time tables for visitors staying without their own transport.


Doris Hart - 19th August 2015
Rating

Comment

Room was well-decorated but small. Hospitality and food were excellent.Hosts are very friendly and welcoming. The house is beautifully decorated. Only two buses serve this area and service is not that good: one bus ends early in eve and never on Sunday. Other bus is every 30 minutes during day and hourly after a certain time at night.

Location

Fine restaurnant, reasonable prices: Angel Share at West End. Tasty and inexpensive cafe: Jacobs on North Bridge. Free and beautiful: Royal Botanical Garden, buses 8, 23, and 27.


Annemarie & Hans-Juergen Dignath, 46119 Oberhausen, Germany - 17th August 2015
Rating

Comment

excxellent the modern functional standard of the room, outstanding shower, save car park, excellent breakfast, nice hosts -near to town centre by walking -otherwise good connection by local busses both best for visiting attractions like "Edin-Tattoo", Fringe, Holyrood etc and not to forget all the performances at/on the streets round "Royal Mile" and "Gras Market" We will recommend to our friends

Location

Museums, Fringe Festival attraction everywhere, The Edin-Tattoo, Holyrood Palace, The Britannia, Arthurs Seat, Five Bridge


Julie Edwards, Chelmsford - 7th August 2015
Rating

Comment

We had a twin room which was decorated beautifully. Was very clean, modern, bright and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful with local knowledge. The facilities in the room were excellent. Breakfast was delicious.

Location

We visited Greyfriars Pub on a couple of occasions which was very cosy and the bar staff were friendly. We went on the Mary Kings Close tour. This was a really enjoyable and factual tour, yet very interesting. Our guide, Paul, had a really dry, dead-pan delivery which was very very funny! Would recommend this tour.


Catherine Goggin, Birmingham, England - 24th June 2015
Rating

Comment

Lauderville Guest House is a beautiful house and our family room was gorgeous: clean, comfortable, large and beautifully decorated. The owners were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast, which included a choice of dishes, was delicious.

Location

There are two buses which take you to the heart of Edinburgh in about 15 minutes, or you could walk. There is a lovely pub nearby which served delicious food if you didn't eat in the city centre. I'd never been to Edinburgh before and I totally fell in love with it. The history, architecture, atmosphere and attractions were second to none. Particular highlights: the castle and a literary tour of the city. Will definitely return many times as there is so much more to see and do. But do prepare for changeable weather as within a couple of days it had gone from really cold, windy and wet to warm with not a cloud in the sky.


Ruth Gilchrist - 30th May 2015
Rating

Comment

Excellent location for a night out in town. Parking was great . Very warm welcome . Room was great. I had a single room perfect size and so comfy.

Location

Royal mile and grassmarket good night out


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Lauderville Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.