These reviews are the subjective opinions of visitors who have previously stayed at the establishment advertised. Note: Opinions are not those of UK Accommodation Index Limited.


Ratings Guide :

Outstanding
Excellent
Good
Acceptable
Poor
A - Z Accommodation in
Edinburgh
See Also:
Accommodation in Scotland


Visitor Reviews of Kildonan Lodge Hotel - Overall Rating 3.9

Adela Silber, San Pedro, California USA - 15th September 2012
Rating

Comment

Room was quiet and quaint and extremely well situated for easy access to points of interest in Edinburgh. Public areas were relaxing and well maintained. The staff were courteous, efficient and always very aware of the needs of the Guest. We loved this hotel. I would recommend it highly and can only praise the owners/management for doing such a fine job.

Location

No comment supplied


Diane, Riogordo, Spain - 10th August 2011
Rating

Comment

Hotel was lovely - Although a little shabby/chic in places - esecially the bathrooms. However, loved the Jacuzzi bath and 4 poster bed. would happily stay again.

Location

No comment supplied


Carl Smith, Lincoln, England - 29th September 2009
Rating

Comment

Room was very nice, a few small niggles detracted from room being excellent eg bed creaked and didn't have drapes as shown in photographs of rooms, no sink plug. The Staff were very friendly and helpful when questioned about places to eat/visit. Breakfast was very nice with a wide selection to suit all tastes from cold meat/cheeses through cereals to Full Scottish with extras like Haggis. The biggest disappointment was the restaurant on an evening, though we only ate there once, once was enough, food was disappointing and expensive. On the plus side the Hotel is ideally situated to visit Edinburgh only 15 mins on bus or for the energetic a 40 minute walk to the Royal Mile and 5 more minutes to Princes St. Overall the visit, my first to Edinburgh, was very enjoyable and look forward to returning again just probably not to this Hotel.

Location

Places we visited - Edinburgh Castle - great tourist attraction, get there early as seemed to get very busy towards Lunch time, cafe available though we didnt use it, 1 o'clock gun was worth the wait even if the actual event was over in less than a second the anticiption was great. Very informative guides both written and audio.High Street (Royal Mile) - lots of whisky shops,museums to visit, street acts. Princes Street - the Tram system is currently being installed so there are roads ripped up,lots of work going so is not the quetist of main streets to shop/visit, numerous shopping malls. Though I don't do shopping with the history of the place and the warm inviting shops it didn't feel to much like shopping.


Ray Patterson, Edinburgh - 14th November 2008
Rating

Comment

Was good without being outstanding

Location

well documented at hotel


Carl Brennan, Germany - 15th September 2008
Rating

Comment

Had a large spacious room with comfortable beds. Hospitality and food was good. Would stay again if in the area.

Location

No comment supplied


Anne Douglas, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada - 6th September 2008
Rating

Comment

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this lovely hotel, which is situated on a wide tree-lined street. I had a warm welcome, and my room amd bathroom were very spacious, clean and fresh. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I enjoyed two nights of great sleep, which is a real treat when travelling. I didn't sample the sherry, but I really enjoyed the complimentary shortbread, teas and water that were in the room. Breakfast was excellent, served in a beautiful room overlooking the front lawn. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I am very happy to recommend Kildonan Lodge to other visitors. I was travelling on my own, and I felt very safe. Thank you Kildonan Lodge!

Location

The many buses that stop just across from the hotel take you to the heart of Edinburgh in minutes. A two pounds fifty pence "day return" allows you to travel all around the city, all day, and I think that's a great deal. The hotel lists the buses (and the fares) on their business cards, which was really helpful, especially for the return trip.


Ian Waddell, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan / Canada - 16th August 2008
Rating

Comment

The room was very pleasant(size,decor,cleanliness). The staff was welcoming and helpful, The dining area was comfortable and service was attentive.

Location

This was our children's first experience of a bed and breakfast. They were very impressed.


Harshini Pavan, India - 8th August 2008
Rating

Comment

The room was good, good hospitality as well but felt 375 pounds for 3 nights was expensive..something around 275-300 would have left us feeling great. The vegetarian food available for breakfast was good but not much to choose from..we sort of got bored eating the same thing every morning. Overall..Scotland is beautiful and I love the place..definately will come back to Scotland!!!

Location

No comment supplied


1 | 2 | 3 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.