Visitor Reviews of Greyfriars Apartments - Overall Rating 4.4

Jeanette Johnston, East Anglia - 17th September 2013
Rating

Comment

Everything was provided as promised and all was laid out for us and to a good standard. Martin was extremely helpful, checking several times that all was going well with us and replying to a query very quickly. We didn't have the expected washing machine in this apartment, and there was scaffolding going up on the attached building, so this was a surprise, though not one Accommodation Scotland could have done anything about. The flat was cosy and pleasingly quick and easy to warm, with very clear instructions for everything, and the bathroom and the kitchen in particular were pleasingly modern and well-appointed. It was only 2 flights up, which helped to make up for the lack of view.

Location

It is wonderfully situated: everything is nearby! There is the castle, Greyfriars churchyard, the National Museum of Scotland with its amazing glass-roofed central hall just across the road, and there are stairs to take you anywhere up or down! For further afield there is Dr Neil's Garden at the far side of Arthur's Seat, and the old village of Dene and the Waters of Leith, which can be strolled through after a visit to the Gallery of Modern Art - accessible by a free bus from the National Gallery. We also took the train/bus to St Andrews for the day, and saw a torchlight academic procession and fireworks, as well as sampling Janetta's famous icecreams. For food and drink we used the cafes and restaurants of the nearby Grassmarket, the Royal Mile, and the nearby Elephant House of J.K.Rowling fame - which does a great haggis, neeps and tatties! Brilliant!


P Chinnery, Western Australia - 27th August 2013
Rating

Comment

Walking distance to castle, royal mile and numerous other attractions. Plenty of excellent restaurants and pubs nearby

Location

Obviously castle and royal mile, Hollywood house. Restaurants recommended cellar door, Kathmandu Nepalese and Indian and Greyfriars bobby pub


Sibylle Martin, Belgium - 2nd April 2013
Rating

Comment

Beautiful little flat, perfectly clean and equipped, great central location in the Old Town, great value for money, the owner kept in touch all the time to make sure everything was ok. He gave us a sense of high hospitality by leaving nice things for us in the fridge and on a tray in the kitchen. Everything is made for your comfort, there are plenty of bookds about Edinburgh and Scotland on a shelf and all the functions of the apartment are exhaustively explained in a little folder left on the table.

Location

No comment supplied


Mariano Fratini, Argentina - 19th February 2013
Rating

Comment

The apparent was very comfortable, clean, tidy and has a great location. The price was very accessible and the owners are more than friendly!!!

Location

The Edinburgh Castle was outstanding, and I fell in love with the highlands, it's mountains and the great distilleries there.


Ana Berckemeyer, Lima, Peru - 22nd January 2013
Rating

Comment

very clean, comfortable and with everything we needed!!! Absolutely outstanding!!!

Location

Near EVERYTHING!!


Anastasia Rodina, Moscow, Russia - 29th April 2012
Rating

Comment

Simple and authentic, few steps from Royal Mile, but in a quiet cul-de-sack, clean, with all necessary appliances and charming wooden furniture. From the very second we entered the apartment, we felt so much at home that on the date of departure we literary forgot that we had to leave. It is very homey with a fireplace, colourful carpets, thick walls and lovely windows with a picturesque view to a famous Greyfriars kirkyard. We loved little touches like welcome pack, tartan wool blanket, thistle decor on table pads, carefully selected books and movies related to Edinburgh and Scotland. Everything from the first to the last step was extremely well organized; Martin was very helpful, took a good care of us and always stayed in touch to answer our questions almost immediately. Fantastic place for a couple. Good value for money. Will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Location

Everything is in a walking distance: dozens of tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants (we frequented Caffè Lucano 37-39 George IV Bridge and Bella Italia 54-56 North Bridge - friendly Italian places, delicious food, decent prices), railway station, supermarket, tour agencies (we took Rabbies for Loch Lomond and Stirling - great tour with a great guide-driver Brian!). For city walks we used one of the books of the apartment.


Alberto - 29th August 2011
Rating

Comment

We enjoyed very much the apartment, quiet and close to the principal attractions on the old town. Good value for money in this period (august). The kitchen and dining room were very well equipped, less the bathroom not too large. Generally clean well. Perfect organization from booking to departure. Reccomended for a couple or a little family.

Location

Just around the corner you find the new National museum Scotland, you are at five minutes by walking from royal mile, ten minutes from Waverley station and National Gallery. Near Grassmarket street, shooping supermarket within five minutes direction to the university.


Susan, Finland / Scotland - 3rd July 2011
Rating

Comment

The apartment was a perfect size for two people, it was clean and had everything we needed, it was peaceful (lovely view onto Greyfriars churchyard) and the owners made us feel very welcome. On top of this the location was perfect for exploring the centre the centre of Edinburgh, both old and new towns and there were restaurants and food shops all around, so it was easy to cater for ourselves without going any distance. As we were attending our son's graduation, we couldn't have been better placed for Edinburgh University and the MacEwan Hall.We wouldn't hesitate to rent this apartment again, finding it very good value for money.

Location

The number of places nearby worth visiting are countless,some right on the doorstep of the flat - Greyfriars and the National Museum of Scotland, with the Royal Mile and Grassmarket only minutes' walk away.


1 | 2 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Greyfriars Apartments
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.