Visitor Reviews of Conifers Guest House - Overall Rating 4

kirk, middlesbrough - 17th November 2011
Rating

Comment

The room was good, no complaints. Dave the owner was sound. All in all i'd recommend it and would gladly stay again.

Location

Half an hours walk from the main centre. everything is within walking distance.


James - 18th July 2011
Rating

Comment

Comfy bed, and quiet room. Lovely homely feel to the place, and good value for money. Made to feel very welcome

Location

Easy to get to centre of town on the bus


Owen, Great Malvern, England - 2nd June 2011
Rating

Comment

Conifers is a pleasant, friendly and well decorated house, the facilities very clean and well kept, and the breakfasts excellent. Reasons for rating it as only "good" include the fact that my single room room was the smallest I have met in this standard of guesthouse, with no table or even shelf adequate for laying out papers, touring literature etc, or to snack from. The house also lacks a guests' lounge, offering only an easy chair in the breakfast room. For such reasons particularly I would not rate The Conifers to be a true "guest house" as normally understood. Additionally, having to share a bathroom is unusual at the price charged, and though sharing was not a problem on this occasion, the bathroom lacked adequate towel rails etc, or any means of identifying and separating personal towels etc.

Location

Location was no problem, though the street is noisy, especially for front rooms. As for Edinburgh itself: this was my first visit after forty years, and despite continuing planning mistakes, especially below and around the Royal Mile (why for example is the new Government Building so inconspicuously tucked away, dwarfed in most views by an incongruously showy sports hall?), the city remains fantastic and wonderful, and even grander than remembered, with a vibrant welcoming atmosphere mostly lacking decades earlier. Particular memories from a too-short stay include the amazing quality of the national art collection, with a wealth of unexpected treasures beautifully presented; the extraordinary stained glass in St Giles Cathedral; the charming and restful oasis of St John's churchyard; the Botanic Gardens; and finally the walkways and cycleways along the canal and River Leith. I took many photographs, and will be pleased to forward some when I have finished editing and processing them


Monika, Munich - 30th May 2011
Rating

Comment

We had very nice days at our standing at Conifers Guest House. The hospitality was great. Many thanks for the very good scotish breakfast.

Location

No comment supplied


Rutger, Netherlands - 29th May 2011
Rating

Comment

Very friendly hosts, high level of hospitality. Good food. Comfortable rooms. We've booked at the start and end of our holiday a room. Initially we only booked at the start of our holiday a room.

Location

15 min walk from beautifull centre of Edinburgh. Also bus stop to centre in front of accommodation; so very comfortable to travel within city centre. City has numerous places and buildings to visit; castle, churches, pubs etc.


Lauriane - 14th May 2011
Rating

Comment

very nice hosts. the room was very confortable, very well furnished and clean. we really enjoy our stay at Conifer house. the breakfast was really good also.

Location

the location is quite good. it is in walking distance of historic attraction of edinbourgh.


Kristina - 30th October 2010
Rating

Comment

The room was nice and clean, with a fridge and possibilities to make some afternoon tea and there were some extra glasses for water and wine. Only the bathroom was a little too small with a tiny basin since my husband is a big person. The breakfast was good, with an assortment of cereals, yoghurts etc. and scottish breakfast if one wish to have some. But the hospitality was not good. I got the impression, that we have been kind of a disturbing factor, he has been very hectically, he just brought us the breakfast and striktly went away, no friendly word or interest and we never met his wife so I think she simply didn't want to come and meet us. It has always been quite noisy as we stayed in the ground floor. I didn't like the atmosphere very well but me and my husband had lots to do during our stay in Edinburgh and just for sleeping and having breakfast it was a good location to stay.

Location

The Guest House is located a little outside of the central Edinburgh but within walking distance or to go by bus (around 2km). We were always walking because there are many shops and restaurants on every side of the street.


Elizabeth, South African - 29th October 2010
Rating

Comment

Our room was very pleasant, with a comfortable bed and a couch. The bathroom was very clean. The food was good, but on the second morning, when we requested an earlier cooked breakfast, we were not accomodated. Our hosts just unlocked the dining room, and we had to make do with cereal, and fruit. We felt that this was poor, as we were paying for two nights with breakfast.

Location

The Conifers is quite well-located. It is a fair walk into the City itself, but not an unpleasantly long one. We were able to see many of the historic sights, such as the Castle, Calton Hill and the Royal Mile without taking a bus or tazi.


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Conifers Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.