Visitor Reviews of Castleview Guest House - Overall Rating 3.9

lyn, Scottish - 29th August 2010
Rating

Comment

Room was 4 floors up but was clean, spacious and comfortable. It was twice the normal price due to being in the middle of the festival. The staff were friendly and helpful but not in your face, and the breakfast was delicious- everything was grilled not fried, without us asking. The dining room had too many tables crammed in though.

Location

No comment supplied


Valentina, Italy - 3rd August 2010
Rating

Comment

excellent

Location

No comment supplied


Lisa - 28th July 2010
Rating

Comment

The room was large and very nicely furnished and the location was good; however, when we arrived, no one was available to greet us. We arrived about 4:30 pm, a little later than we "guessed" we would be arriving when we booked the reservation several weeks in advance. There is a climb up an unattractive staircase to the third floor to the front door of the guest house. The manager left the key for us and another guest in a box near the front door, with a phone number to contact her if we had questions. We did have questions, but no one answered the phone when we tried to contact her. We were hoping to get recommendations for dinner that evening. Also, the shower did not drain well and we had to turn off the water while showering to keep it from overflowing. The tea kettle looked dirty, so we chose not to use it. Although it was a non smoking accommodation, it smelled like someone had been smoking nearby. This was our last night in Scotland after about 10 days of traveling and this was to be our big “splurge”e on accommodations. We paid double the cost at The Castleview than what we had paid in other very lovely guest houses during our trip that started in Edinburgh, then Stirling, Dundee and St Andrews. We had high expectations and were willing to pay more for our last night, but were disappointed by our experience.

Location

No comment supplied


Diane, Doncaster - 26th July 2010
Rating

Comment

Value for money very good. Hotel cleanliness excellent, helpfulness and friendliness of staff excellent. Room size/facilities excellent. Scottish breakfast okay, rather greasy but plenty of other food ie cereal, fruit, toast on offer. Three flights of stairs not as bad as expected, except with heavy bag but not a problem. all in all excellent, would stay again.

Location

Plenty to see and do as one would expect.


sally polwarth, rochester kent - 21st July 2010
Rating

Comment

the manageress made us very welcome ,we felt like we were old friends ,room was lovley. breakfast was great service really quick no complaints at all

Location

very central for all of edinburghs attractions we were there for the rod stewart concert at the castle


nalini naga, brussels - 19th July 2010
Rating

Comment

very clean and everything i could possibly have wanted. very lovely and friendly staff.

Location

great location


Damaris Li, USA/ Germany - 21st June 2010
Rating

Comment

A wonderful, clean and nice room. The staff was really nice and helpfull.I love the Colour of our room. And the Breakfast was amazing!!

Location

The Guesthouse is in the City nearby Waverly Station. It`s amazing to walk to all visitor attraction (new Town and old Town of Edinburgh). First we had made a sightseeingtour by bus (they offer discriptions in different languages). So we had seen a lot of this nice town. After then, we walk through the Royal Mile, seen the scottisch parliament, Holyrood Palace, George Street,.... and we went shopping! Oh my gosh!! They had a lot of really good shops in the Princess street -just around the corner from the Guesthouse!


tammy howell, us - 12th June 2010
Rating

Comment

friendly, food and room were well presented, location was easy to access local highlights, wonderful castle view

Location

excellent


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Castleview Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.