Visitor Reviews of Castleview Guest House - Overall Rating 3.9

Bill Browne, Rhoose, Vale of Glamorgan, S Wales - 20th August 2008
Rating

Comment

Our double room was beautifully furnished/comfortable, the en-suite bathroom too, the only snag being on a rain soaked night we were woken by a rain pipe emptying its contents over the floodlight unit on the front of the building. The breakfast menu was very nice and varied for a small guest house, the staff friendly and discreet, prices high for that particular month but far more favourable than nearby hotels etc. It was a very nicely run and quiet establishment in the heart of Edinburgh City.

Location

The location of the guest house is superb, being off the main Princes Street and therefore quieter, also due to its high position in the building but obviously with no lift that can also be a severe disadvantage too, it is however pointed out to its guests when booking. We could arrive with ease from the airport via the extremely inexpensive airport bus service which stops near Castle Street, and highlights included the Royal Yacht Britannia, the Castle and its Tattoo, the bus tour of all the citys' places of interest and its lovely park/shops in Princes Street.


Beate + Henning Seidel, Near Hamburg, Germany - 15th August 2008
Rating

Comment

It was a nice room with a nice view and good breakfast

Location

Edinburgh is a very nice town and we like the festivals and the possibility to go by bus or train to castles or another towns (St. Andrews, Glasgow u.a.)


Brigitte Britzke, Wiesbaden/Germany - 14th August 2008
Rating

Comment

The standard of the room was very fine. They were very friendly. It is located very central in Edinburgh. Although it is in the city it was quite calm in the night.

Location

We visited the Frindge which was extraordinary.


Lori Millet, USA - 12th August 2008
Rating

Comment

Great view. Bathroom rug not cleaned or changed between guests. Good breakfast, grumpy help. Bed was very old and hard.

Location

Great location to Princes street, the Royal Mile and the Castle.


John clifton, uk - 11th August 2008
Rating

Comment

The location is very central and close to plenty of places to eat. As we were told in advance, it is up a lot of steps (3rd floor) so suitable only for those able to climb. Room was fine, quiet, clean and comfortable (rather hot at night but it was warm weather). Some street noise (explosions!)from fireworks related to the tattoo. Good breakfast, pleasant staff, willing to keep our luggage until we left later in the day.

Location

Excellent location for all of central Edinburgh - tons to do and see within a walk, and buses to further places.


karen keith, USA - 10th August 2008
Rating

Comment

Very nice people and lovely place---just lots of stairs! Loved the decor!

Location

great brochures available


Laura Summerfeldt, Canada - 23rd July 2008
Rating

Comment

Outstanding hospitality and care for guests. The staff were exceptionally kind and solicitous. The meals were excellent and very well organized. The physical facilities themselves were good. The (single) room I was in could have been improved by some re-design to maximize the tiny space, and a better mattress & bed (not foam on boards).

Location

The location is wonderful with easy access to all local sites either on foot or via the nearby major bus stops, adjacent to the lovely Princes St. gardens and in the middle of the appealing New Town architecture. Many many places to eat and drink nearby. As they make clear, the 3 flights of stairs mean the Castleview won't work for everyone.


Isla Hutchinson, Sacramento USA - 22nd July 2008
Rating

Comment

Great hospitality and a lovely room

Location

No comment supplied


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Castleview Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.