These reviews are the subjective opinions of visitors who have previously stayed at the establishment advertised. Note: Opinions are not those of UK Accommodation Index Limited.


Ratings Guide :

Outstanding
Excellent
Good
Acceptable
Poor
A - Z Accommodation in
Isle of Skye
See Also:
Accommodation in Scotland


Visitor Reviews of Ben View - Overall Rating 3.9

Maureen Martin - 23rd October 2014
Rating

Comment

Friendly owner. It was wonderful to arrived lit open fire.

Location

No comment supplied


Sharon Carter - 28th November 2013
Rating

Comment

Ben View is an amazing little croft cottage situated near the top end of the Isle of Skye. The cottage is basic but had the right amenities for my stay of some 6 days. I love the fact that I could hear the rain on the roof from the bedroom and that there is an open plan fire in the lounge. As it is self catering, there is however a small village shop where you can get additional food and the hosts kept up the level of coal when I needed it for the fire.

Location

I just love the quietness of the area (I was there mid-November) however there are a number of walks that you can take from the cottage. Just driving around Skye was amazing!


Kinlay Laidlaw, Ayrshire, Scotland - 3rd July 2013
Rating

Comment

Ben View is good value for money. Although basic, it really had everything we required. The open coal fire was excellent and we were grateful that Mr McLeod had lit the fire before we arrived. The location is fantastic

Location

We visited mainly to fish for trout on nearby lochs - the property was conveniently located and we very much enjoyed the experience


stewart snape - 22nd October 2012
Rating

Comment

Glorious weather, outstanding scenery, great cottage with all you need. good value for money. friendly people.

Location

disappointing that the crofting museum was closed despite the brochure saying it was due to be open.


Ingrid Drebenstedt, Germany - 14th April 2012
Rating

Comment

beautiful views, great hospitality, but no heating in the bathroom

Location

Columba Centre is a great place to go for food and drink.


Karen - 24th August 2011
Rating

Comment

It is a picturesque traditional crofters cottage with a coal fire in the sitting room. Other heating in the cottage is supplied via plug-in electric heaters. The upstairs has height restrictions - even normal height people need to watch their head. We had the utmost hilarity over it, not finding it a problem at all, and now that we are home, I really miss the cottage. It is at the end of the lane, and so is very private, with absolutely fabulous views of the hills and glen behind, and Staffin bay and Flodigarry Island in front. The sunsets are fabulous! The fire was burning cheerfully when we arrived ......... sigh!

Location

Staffin Bay is a picturesque township with a small beach and slipway for boats. It boasts a shop with a restaurant next door, a small garage/shop. St. Columba 1400 centre, where not only do they do great food, but hire internet time on their computers for a small fee. If you have your own computer, the WiFi is an even smaller fee. Skyelight Candles worth a visit. Going north and turning left onto The Quiraing hills (amazing! stupendous!) drive into Uig - pottery, brewery, food, garage, shop and ferry to the Outer Isles. Drive south from cottage, Kilt Rock, Storr Lochs, and The Old Man of Storr, and drive down into Portree, which is a magical place to visit... sigh!


Susanne, Germany - 26th April 2011
Rating

Comment

excellent

Location

No comment supplied


John, Cumbria - 23rd September 2010
Rating

Comment

Excellent value for money. Owners very helpful and friendly.

Location

Very good centre for exploring the Trotternish area.


1 | 2 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Ben View
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.