Visitor Reviews of Auld Reekie Guest House - Overall Rating 4.1

Mrs. Hazel, Ely Cambridgeshire - 27th June 2011
Rating

Comment

Very friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a very good breakfast. Auld Reekie is situated in a convenient part of town - just a bus ride from the city centre.

Location

We were in Edinburgh for three whole days and on recommendation by a companion traveller visited North Berwick the first day. Then we also visited the Scottish Parliament which was impressive and interesting. Lastly we walked from our B & B to the Botanical Gardens and these gardens were excellent and very well worth a visit.


Robyn, Adelaide and Sydney - Australia - 18th May 2011
Rating

Comment

The standard of the room could not be faulted. The room was large, en-suite facilities were excellent. Our host was also excellent, very informative, friendly and helpful and went further than most to accommodate us. Breakfast was very well presented. We enjoyed the experience so much was extended another night. All in all it was a very positive experience.

Location

The accommodation was quite central to the facilities. Eating places were close by and the assistance we received from our host was excellent. Should we return to Scotland/Edinburgh we would like to return to Auld Reekie Guest House.


Marian - 16th May 2011
Rating

Comment

Breakfast was good. Room was clean and spacious. Lady of the house was very pleasant. Thank you. Marian

Location

Edinburgh Castle was well worth a visit.


alberto, london - 13th May 2011
Rating

Comment

first of all, what makes the difference at auld reekie guest house, is Rhona! amazing woman, very nice and polite but also very funny. she helps customers giving good tips and making them feel at home. and this is a quality not easy to find anywhere else. good size double room, clean and nice bathroom en suite. shower amazing! a plus also for the breakfast room and breakfast itself: all cooked fresh and with a few choises (vegeterian as well). b&b 30 seconds from bus stop. once on the bus, it'll take no more than 10 minutes to get to the centre of Edinburgh.

Location

Edinburgh is a nice city to pay a visit to but i think 2 days are enough. strongly suggest to rent a car a have a look around (for example highlands)


Gail, UK but living in Malaysia - 22nd April 2011
Rating

Comment

Rhona, the owner, was extremely welcoming. We had a very attractive room a with comfortable bed, a good-s1zed wardrobe, an excellent shower in the en-suite bathroom and a reliable TV. The breakfast was great (and very quickly served).

Location

We were in Edinburgh for a family wedding (in the Royal Mile)and the location of the guest house made it possible to walk to the centre of Edinburgh within 15 minutes.It was also on a main bus route should we have needed that.


James - 23rd March 2011
Rating

Comment

I found the guest house just "great". The establishment was is a pleasant and safe part of town. The proximity to the bus stop made the trips to the tourist zone easy and enjoyable. The breakfast was just fine as well; for sure a lot better that the hard roll and coffee that they serve in Spain or France. The hostess, Ms. Rhona, was a true blessing. She is sweet, pleasant and very helpful. She was able to advise, guide and aid us in our travels. All of this was done with a smile. I don't think any bed and breakfast establishments in Edinburgh are "outstanding". So don't take the "excellent" as a poor grade. If you want outstanding, try the "Wynn" hotel in Las Vegas. All and all, this bed and breakfast was great, Rhona was special, and I would stay there again in a "New York Second".

Location

Make sure you bring your tripod and fancy lens and take some shots from the city of Edinburgh from above. Slow shutter camara shots at sun down and night really caught the magic of the city. Try the North/South bridge at night as well. If you are a camera buff, you will be happy.


Dennis, Visiting from Nottingham to Edinburgh - 9th October 2010
Rating

Comment

excellent

Location

No comment supplied


Louise, Australia - 2nd October 2010
Rating

Comment

The room was in a very good location.The room was nicely furnished. We had a lovely breakfast.

Location

Great location. On public transport line if needed.


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Auld Reekie Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.