Visitor Reviews of Ashgrove House - Overall Rating 3.7

Nick, Ottawa, Canada - 27th July 2011
Rating

Comment

very clean rooms, great breakfast and nice hosts.

Location

Perfect location en route from airport to downtown. Easy walk to Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Princes Street.


MARINA - 18th June 2011
Rating

Comment

Everything was Good, the only complaint is about the 4th bed in the room, was very unconfortable, very basic. the matress was very very thin. the people very friendly, the food was good and the rooms were very clean.

Location

No comment supplied


Irmgard, Detmold Germany - 7th June 2011
Rating

Comment

We liked it well with you.The room was okay,the bathroom a little small.The temperature control of water in the shower was difficult. The service at breakfast was very good.The good bus service , and the short distance into the city was ideal

Location

No comment supplied


Grace, California, USA - 1st June 2011
Rating

Comment

Our stay at Ashgrove House was very quiet. Bed was comfortable so we basically had a good night's sleep each time. We were told that we were going to have a small double bed with an en-suite bathroom, which was very convenient. We expected the room to be very small. We were glad that we had more space than we thought we would have. Full English breakfast with toast is offered plus a choice of cereals, yogurt and unlimited access to orange juice. There's also a free car park out front and a free access to internet and wi-fi. Always a plus! We have no view at all from our room window. Didn't bother us much since we were out and about during the day and hardly spent time in our room. The one thing we really didn't like was the humidity from bathroom use after the shower which can cause quite a pungent smell. One suggestion could be to change the carpet to hardwood floors but it can still be an issue. The solution we found was to leave our window open during breakfast. Also, the blower from the bathroom keeps going (for maybe about 10 minutes) after you have turned off the light. It can be quite annoying when you're ready to sleep but still waiting for the blower to turn off. By the way, to access the rooms at the first floor you'll have to climb some stairs. There's no elevator so this can be an issue for someone. Overall, our stay was very comfortable. We had a very nice experience here.

Location

We had no trouble at all finding Ashgrove House. We took the 100 Citylink bus line from the airport for 3 pounds and 60 pence per adult one way. It took about a five minute walk to get to Ashgrove House from the Wester Coates stop. We also took the 100 Citylink bus line each time we wanted to go to downtown Edinburgh (Waverley stop). Cost was a pound and 30 pence one way per adult. It took practically no time at all, about less than 10 minutes. We much prefer to take the bus than to rent a car when visiting Edinburgh. We didn't have to worry about parking. Plus it was really easy to access the main attractions from Waverley. This makes Ashgrove House's location convenient in visiting downtown Edinburgh.


Aida - 2nd May 2011
Rating

Comment

Everything was perfect- from clean room, bathroom to breakfast.

Location

15 min walking distance to old town- convenient.


Carmel, Malta Europe - 28th March 2011
Rating

Comment

Room had all the ingredients for Excellent but was a little bit small, though the shower cubicle should upgrade it to Excellent.Breakfast was very good but would have been upgraded were it served at 7.30 to accomodate early risers. It would have also been more appreciated were a Scottish Breakfast been put on the menu.The Breakfast room was outstanding.The charm within is excepionally beautiful.The fact that it is a few minutes away on foot from the centre makes it very good value for money.

Location

Those on their own do not have a clue how to get on a bus that takes you for example to Glasgow or some other city in the vicinity of Edinburgh.Indications would very much be appreciated.


Margaret, Kinlochleven, Argyllshire - 15th October 2010
Rating

Comment

Hospitality, room, facilities and food were excellent and I would recommend it to my friends. Only complaint i have is that there was only one pillow per bed!! Value for money definately and the fact that it was so near the centre of the city made it so convenient.

Location

Although there were 5 in our party all Scottish apart from one, we did the " touristy" things, visited Mary Kings Close, which was very interesting historically, open top bus ride, tour of the Royal Yacht Britannia, Story of the People and found them all good value for money and well worth seeing.


Valerie, London - 30th September 2010
Rating

Comment

Very Good would better describe our stay at Ashgrove House. Very good calue for money,very friendly staff and owners.Very convenient for bus transport. Would have liked a Scottish breakfast - ie black pudding/fish. Nice spacious house - enjoyable stay.

Location

Edinburgh caters very well for tourists - beautiful city - amazing architecture - wide range of eating facilities.


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Ashgrove House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.