Visitor Reviews of Armadillo Guest House - Overall Rating 3.5

Britta Thiess, Germany - 8th August 2009
Rating

Comment

Excellent value for money, clean, very hospitable. Trish made us feel at home right away. There was a choice of different breakfasts available, nothing fancy, but good and just the right start for the day. Should we ever return to Edinburgh, we would go there again.

Location

No comment supplied


laura calcagnini, italy - 18th July 2009
Rating

Comment

limited breakfast and not enough cleaned room and bathroom

Location

good


warren wade, Trowbridge, UK - 17th July 2009
Rating

Comment

Location is ok, about a 20 min walk from Princes street but there's lots of pubs and restaurants on the way down. The number 10 or 27 bus will also take you there. The guest house itself is nothing fancy but it's presentable and the owner, Mrs O'Donnell is one of the friendliest people you'll ever meet. We had room 5 on the 3rd floor, one slight criticism is that it was a little dusty but other than that was perfectly ok. The en-suite bathroom was good to have and was clean and tidy. The cooked breakfast was superb, a really good start to the day. If you want 4 star luxury then go elsewhere (and pay more) but if you want a cheap and cheerful place to get your head down then you won't go far wrong with the Armadillo.

Location

Edinburgh is a fabulous city to visit, steeped in history and mystery and a very beautiful city too. If you're on a weekend break (as we were) then ideally stick to the city itself rethar than take trips out as there's so much to see. The best thing about Edinburgh is that the city centre is actually very small so you can quite easily walk everywhere. Once you're on Princes Street which is the main shopping street it doesn't take long to walk to any part of the city at all. The Castle is well worth a visit, it takes a while to get round and you'll find out after that there's still bits you missed. The view from the castle itself is amazing. Another must-see is the view from Arthur's Seat in Holyrood Park, from the top you have a 360 degree view of the city and surrounding area including the Firth of Forth. It's quite a climb to the top so no flip-flops! Trainers or sandals are fine on a dry day though. From the city centre you can walk to Leith, it'll take about an hour and 20 mins if you window-shop as we did, if you don't fancy the walk then the number 22 bus to Ocean Terminal runs every few minutes and only costs £1.20 each way. Once at Ocean Terminal then a visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia is a must, if only to see how the other half lives! Ocean Terminal is also a large indoor shopping complex and a multi-screen cinema. A few mins walk from the complex and you have Shore Place and Dock Place, both have several restaurants and pubs. We popped into 'A Room in Leith' for lunch, a lovely little place and surprisingly cheap! Eating out is really a case of whatever you fancy, there's just so many places it's bewildering. We had a cracking Italian meal in Zizzi on Queensferry Street, also recommended is the Auld Hundred on Rose Street, their haggis is great! Oh and one pub you must visit is the 'Jekyll and Hyde' on Hanover Street, it's one of the most interesting and amusing pubs I've ever been in! Bet you won't find the loos without asking!


Alistair Mason, UK - 17th June 2009
Rating

Comment

The accommodation was good, and worth the money. The owner was genuinely friendly. The food was routine - I've lately stayed at places with a 'greener' more adventurous repertoire. On the debit side, there was a cluster of little slips, none important, just evidence of rush. (I coincided with a change of auxiliary staff). My real gripe was that breakfast started at 8.30, which meant I was late for meetings. I could see the helper arrived at 8.30, so it would have unhelpful to ask for an earlier breakfast.

Location

My conference was in the Haymarket direction, and I discovered to my delight that I could cut across via the charming canal basin and a fine crescent that would be the pride of a lesser town. How much there is to discover in Edinburgh!


richelle leong, Aberdeen, Scotland - 31st May 2009
Rating

Comment

we got a family room, which include a double & a single bed , so it's spacious, the room is clean, however the showerhead holder was broken, so it won't hold up, hence keep sliding down when we shower, please make sure you bring your own toiletries as it's not provided, as usual , take away is not allow, but there're plenty of restaurants near by , there're 2 convenience stores in the same street, so it's no worry if you need more coffee. the owner is friendly , however did feel the check-out time is a bit too early at 9.45am , overall is a pleasant place to stay .

Location

it's a good 20 minutes walk from waverley station , the easier way is to walk to the end of West Princes Street, turn left, all the way till you come to a traffic light, there's a bakery at the corner of Gilmore Place, don't be fool by the door no, all shops will show no till 56, & you may think you're lost, but the B&B is actually located after those shop. think it'll be the same journey time if you go into old town, cross through Grassmarket.


Christer Källström, Denmark - 29th May 2009
Rating

Comment

Good standard of the room. Outstanding breakfast and the charming hostess, Trish, was en extra plus. Furthermore is Amadillo very central placed in the city. Good value for the money.

Location

We visited many places during our three days stay in Edinburgh. We liked specially the guided tour in the Scottish Parliament and the tours in Holyroad park. Even the restaurants we visited, Atrium and Cafe Royal, are exellent gourmet-places.Denmark


Mats Areskoug, Sweden - 29th May 2009
Rating

Comment

We came to Edinburgh from The Highlands and the B&Bs there were better. The rooms had toilet and shower.

Location

Good location!


Andy Furniere, Belgium - 6th May 2009
Rating

Comment

Fantastic atmosphere in this big mansion. Breakfast pretty extensive and you can choose the day before what you will have. Run with friendliness and care by the proprietress. Location is some 15 min walking from the centre, the close neighbourhood is not busy but still there are shops and bars. Perfect for us. The ensuite rooms, which are not expensive at all, are really spacious, the cheaper standard rooms everything you could want, shower and toilet just outside. Would absolutely recommend to stay there if you're in Edinburgh.

Location

No comment supplied


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Armadillo Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.