Visitor Reviews of Armadillo Guest House - Overall Rating 3.5

Alistair Mason, UK - 17th June 2009
Rating

Comment

The accommodation was good, and worth the money. The owner was genuinely friendly. The food was routine - I've lately stayed at places with a 'greener' more adventurous repertoire. On the debit side, there was a cluster of little slips, none important, just evidence of rush. (I coincided with a change of auxiliary staff). My real gripe was that breakfast started at 8.30, which meant I was late for meetings. I could see the helper arrived at 8.30, so it would have unhelpful to ask for an earlier breakfast.

Location

My conference was in the Haymarket direction, and I discovered to my delight that I could cut across via the charming canal basin and a fine crescent that would be the pride of a lesser town. How much there is to discover in Edinburgh!


richelle leong, Aberdeen, Scotland - 31st May 2009
Rating

Comment

we got a family room, which include a double & a single bed , so it's spacious, the room is clean, however the showerhead holder was broken, so it won't hold up, hence keep sliding down when we shower, please make sure you bring your own toiletries as it's not provided, as usual , take away is not allow, but there're plenty of restaurants near by , there're 2 convenience stores in the same street, so it's no worry if you need more coffee. the owner is friendly , however did feel the check-out time is a bit too early at 9.45am , overall is a pleasant place to stay .

Location

it's a good 20 minutes walk from waverley station , the easier way is to walk to the end of West Princes Street, turn left, all the way till you come to a traffic light, there's a bakery at the corner of Gilmore Place, don't be fool by the door no, all shops will show no till 56, & you may think you're lost, but the B&B is actually located after those shop. think it'll be the same journey time if you go into old town, cross through Grassmarket.


Christer Källström, Denmark - 29th May 2009
Rating

Comment

Good standard of the room. Outstanding breakfast and the charming hostess, Trish, was en extra plus. Furthermore is Amadillo very central placed in the city. Good value for the money.

Location

We visited many places during our three days stay in Edinburgh. We liked specially the guided tour in the Scottish Parliament and the tours in Holyroad park. Even the restaurants we visited, Atrium and Cafe Royal, are exellent gourmet-places.Denmark


Mats Areskoug, Sweden - 29th May 2009
Rating

Comment

We came to Edinburgh from The Highlands and the B&Bs there were better. The rooms had toilet and shower.

Location

Good location!


Andy Furniere, Belgium - 6th May 2009
Rating

Comment

Fantastic atmosphere in this big mansion. Breakfast pretty extensive and you can choose the day before what you will have. Run with friendliness and care by the proprietress. Location is some 15 min walking from the centre, the close neighbourhood is not busy but still there are shops and bars. Perfect for us. The ensuite rooms, which are not expensive at all, are really spacious, the cheaper standard rooms everything you could want, shower and toilet just outside. Would absolutely recommend to stay there if you're in Edinburgh.

Location

No comment supplied


Adam Bennett, Mississippi, United States of America - 29th April 2009
Rating

Comment

The rooms were always cleaned once a day. The breakfast was hot and good portions. Breakfast was only served between 8:30am and 9am but that got us up in the morning in enough time to hit the city during the day. The owner was VERY hospitable and even arranged a cab for us the last day. The service and cleanliness was Excellent maybe even outstanding. The rooms were a bit small but that might be a European thing rather than specific to this place. Being from America, we are used to spacious rooms.

Location

It was close to many things in the city center. We did not have a hard time walking to most everything from the house.


Michael Stepan - 28th April 2009
Rating

Comment

Good value, very good breakfast

Location

very close to Grassmarket and 10 minutes walk to Castle Edinbourgh


Jenny McCarron, London - 13th April 2009
Rating

Comment

The room was clean and tidy, but the tea making facilities were poor (insufficient milk for more than one drink a day) no complimentary biscuits. The breakfast was very rigid - no cereal allowed if having a full breakfast. Chairs in the dining room uncomfortable - fold up wooden. Not much information about the attractions we could visit.

Location

The B and B was very convenient to all the tourist facilities. We enjoyed all the historic attractions very much, but quite expensive. We found out about lots of deals that we could have taken advantage of towards the end of our visit, quite often by accident. The best deal of all was the open top buses. We were told of many smaller places of interest to visit, they were very informative about Edinburgh in general. We enjoyed our visit very much and would like to return again.


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Armadillo Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.