Visitor Reviews of Armadillo Guest House - Overall Rating 3.5

Jan Snijders, Netherlands - 30th August 2009
Rating

Comment

It was good value for money and the hospitality was very good. Friendly, forthcoming and always trying to let us feel at ease and welcome.

Location

Just a short walk from the busstops at home-street and also just a 15-minutes walk from citycenter/Highstreet.


Allison French, Southampton - 22nd August 2009
Rating

Comment

Room very clean, breakfast good with several choices. Door to en suite was a make shift sliding one which was not very satisfactory. Staff very nice and helpful. Good value for money as it was so near to centre of Edinburgh.

Location

Just 8 mins walk from castle and 10 from Princes Street. Good bus service, every 20 mins or so, takes you right into centre Edinburgh.


Allan Seidman, Maryland, USA - 18th August 2009
Rating

Comment

Stayed with my wife and 3 children. Loved the rooms! Clean and very big. Beds comfortable. Breakfast was very good with nice service. Royal Mile about 15 minute walk.

Location

No comment supplied


Filipe Fontes, Portugal - 13th August 2009
Rating

Comment

Breakfast is excellent with a great variety of choices. The room is very cosy, clean and well furnished. Hospitality was just great! We really enjoyed the stay.

Location

Very close to the city center, which is ideal because you don't car to go anywhere. Has a paid car-park very closed and cheap.


Roberta Torrente, Naples (Italy) - 12th August 2009
Rating

Comment

I've booked an ensuite double room at the "Armadillo guest house" and we found it very nice;there was enough space to have all my things perfectly in order.The bed was good and really confortable. the bathroom was pratical,especially the shower,with its glass panel that avoided to flood the floor.the price was very good relating to the room and the breakfast.we had a large choice of breakfast types:scottish breakfast,milk,cereal,toast,coffee,tea,fruit and everything was very well cooked by the accomodating proprietor:Miss Tricia and served by a kind girl :) the atmosphere was friendly and calm.we've got our key room,so we could leave the b&B when we wanted to leave it.. and we could return late in the night.

Location

the B&B is situated not far the main street:Princes street.Only 10 minutes of walk.It is near the bus stop of bus 35 that can run to the airport,and near the bus that leads to the centre of the city (if someone doesn't like walking ^_^)


Britta Thiess, Germany - 8th August 2009
Rating

Comment

Excellent value for money, clean, very hospitable. Trish made us feel at home right away. There was a choice of different breakfasts available, nothing fancy, but good and just the right start for the day. Should we ever return to Edinburgh, we would go there again.

Location

No comment supplied


laura calcagnini, italy - 18th July 2009
Rating

Comment

limited breakfast and not enough cleaned room and bathroom

Location

good


warren wade, Trowbridge, UK - 17th July 2009
Rating

Comment

Location is ok, about a 20 min walk from Princes street but there's lots of pubs and restaurants on the way down. The number 10 or 27 bus will also take you there. The guest house itself is nothing fancy but it's presentable and the owner, Mrs O'Donnell is one of the friendliest people you'll ever meet. We had room 5 on the 3rd floor, one slight criticism is that it was a little dusty but other than that was perfectly ok. The en-suite bathroom was good to have and was clean and tidy. The cooked breakfast was superb, a really good start to the day. If you want 4 star luxury then go elsewhere (and pay more) but if you want a cheap and cheerful place to get your head down then you won't go far wrong with the Armadillo.

Location

Edinburgh is a fabulous city to visit, steeped in history and mystery and a very beautiful city too. If you're on a weekend break (as we were) then ideally stick to the city itself rethar than take trips out as there's so much to see. The best thing about Edinburgh is that the city centre is actually very small so you can quite easily walk everywhere. Once you're on Princes Street which is the main shopping street it doesn't take long to walk to any part of the city at all. The Castle is well worth a visit, it takes a while to get round and you'll find out after that there's still bits you missed. The view from the castle itself is amazing. Another must-see is the view from Arthur's Seat in Holyrood Park, from the top you have a 360 degree view of the city and surrounding area including the Firth of Forth. It's quite a climb to the top so no flip-flops! Trainers or sandals are fine on a dry day though. From the city centre you can walk to Leith, it'll take about an hour and 20 mins if you window-shop as we did, if you don't fancy the walk then the number 22 bus to Ocean Terminal runs every few minutes and only costs 1.20 each way. Once at Ocean Terminal then a visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia is a must, if only to see how the other half lives! Ocean Terminal is also a large indoor shopping complex and a multi-screen cinema. A few mins walk from the complex and you have Shore Place and Dock Place, both have several restaurants and pubs. We popped into 'A Room in Leith' for lunch, a lovely little place and surprisingly cheap! Eating out is really a case of whatever you fancy, there's just so many places it's bewildering. We had a cracking Italian meal in Zizzi on Queensferry Street, also recommended is the Auld Hundred on Rose Street, their haggis is great! Oh and one pub you must visit is the 'Jekyll and Hyde' on Hanover Street, it's one of the most interesting and amusing pubs I've ever been in! Bet you won't find the loos without asking!


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Armadillo Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.