Visitor Reviews of Ardgowan Guest House - Overall Rating 3.5

Matilda Glaister, inverness-highlands-scotland - 20th August 2008
Rating

Comment

good value for money as it was a busy season for edinburgh what with the frigne being on. Staff very friendly, always cracking jokes... may offend some people, think he was just trying to be friendly tho, slightly over friendly... the "heart attack breakfast" as they called it was rubbish, consisted of one rasher of bacon, one poached egg, bout four slices of mushroom and two small sausages... not a great breakfast for a tourist to start their busy day touring. bathroom was clean and nice, bedrooms were comfortable, with tv, tea and coffee facilities, good pillows, and a heater that you can manually turn up or down depending on your preference.

Location

mercat cross haunted underground vault (south bridge) tour was well worth going to, not your typical boring tour round the streets of edinburgh, you go underground into dark scary vaults! the castle is always worth seeing (try get there to the the one o'clock cannon get fired (apart from sunday)... worth climbing the sir walter scotts mommuement on princes st. edinburgh dungeons are fun.


Marian Aioanei - 12th August 2008
Rating

Comment

Good value for the money. There was no way to take the breakfast earlier in the morning, when I had to leave to catch the plane at the airport. Very friendly people, I enjoyed the idea of taking the breakfast together with guests from different countries.

Location

No comment supplied


Angela Longmate - 4th August 2008
Rating

Comment

The rooms did not seem finished, as if they were going through a refurbishment, Hospitality was fine, food was okay. No chairs in the room. The shower was excellant.

Location

Edinburgh id just a great place to visit. Where we stayed had an excellant bus route.


Shirley Megget - 1st August 2008
Rating

Comment

No comment supplied

Location

Access to the local shopping centre for basic supplies, closeness to the bus stops, and access to hassle-free parking was good.


Margaret Lovell, Aberdeen, Scotland - 26th July 2008
Rating

Comment

As ours was only an overnight stay so we could go to a concert at Edinburgh Castle, my husband, grown-up son and I decided that a triple room would be the most economical option. This was booked early at a very reasonable rate. However, on our arrival the proprietor saw fit to provide us with a twin room and a single room at no extra cost to us. Breakfast was excellent and also very entertaining as the proprietor kept up an amusing banter which made all the guests in the dining room enter into conversation and mix much more than they would have done if left to their own devices. The bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean, well furnished and comfortable. We could not have asked for more and would be happy to recommend The Ardgowan to anyone.

Location

The guest house is conveniently placed for a choice of buses into the centre of Edinburgh but a taxi ride from the centre of town was not expensive.


Anieke van Leeuwen, Amsterdam - 16th July 2008
Rating

Comment

Nice room and good service/hospitality.

Location

B&B location out of center. Therefore it was necessary to walk through some different parts of Edinburgh, which allowed a good impression of the city.


Michel Galiano, Italy - 14th July 2008
Rating

Comment

In the rooms only elegant shower was saved, for the rest old and fatiscenti doors. The breakfast came to us served badly and with an irony sense that we have not appreciate from a strange man much and absurd one. All this has been much annoying one, in more the toast they were burnt and the rest made to end up. Insufficient cleansing. If I return to Edinburgo sure I will not replace more foot in this species of Guest House. Sorry but for me and other my friends this is the review.

Location

No comment supplied


Martin Nelson, Nottingham - 6th July 2008
Rating

Comment

Room very clean and comfortable - great en suite with a really strong shower. Generally a very pleasent stay!

Location

B&B was a bit further from the city than I'd thought, but there is a bus stop within about 1 minute walk, with buses running very frequently into the city (I'd say about once a minute on average!).


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Ardgowan Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.