Visitor Reviews of Ardgowan Guest House - Overall Rating 3.5

Amy, Germany/South Africa - 25th July 2010
Rating

Comment

The room was large with an ensuite bathroom, but not particularly clean, with peeling wallpaper and generally looking a bit run-down. Breakfast was fine, though nothing to write home about. The beds were comfortable, and the bus links to the city centre were fantastic. If you object to stuffed animals/animal skins, this is not the place for you! Overall, we felt it was quite pricey for what it was, but considering the expense of accommodation in Edinburgh generally, it was alright.

Location

Great location on numerous bus routes into town - never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus, and there is a shopping centre just across the road for emergency provisions.


David Tennent, New Zealand - 23rd July 2010
Rating

Comment

Nice meals and very attentive hosts. Rooms and general state of house a bit tired and run down.

Location

Good bus service easilt accessible from home to downtown Edinburgh.


Sonja Huber - 30th June 2010
Rating

Comment

Very Nice Room, Brilliant Shower...

Location

No comment supplied


detienne bruno, Liège / Belgium - 24th June 2010
Rating

Comment

A bit noisy in the road side and a shower very difficult to regulate.... Nice house and warm welcoming

Location

No comment supplied


victor kakol - 7th June 2010
Rating

Comment

looks like they tried doing it up about 2 yrs ago and then gave up. All in all extremely average.

Location

plenty of buses


Harry Thompson - 26th May 2010
Rating

Comment

I booked this accommodation only to be with friends from Finland who were meeting us in Edinburgh, and also staying at that address. The Breakfasts were very good as also was the room Service - i.e. Towels were changed as were sheets changed daily. However the Lady at reception had no Knowledge of our booking nor of the amount due to be paid. I was able to provide a printout of your email confirmation to her. The Shower control was dangerous - with a high risk of 'scalding'. The Electric Socket boxes were loose and appeared to have recently fitted- but not completed- by 'amateur(s). The TV was well out of date with very poor quality reception. Fortunately my wife had taken with her a Hairdrier, as the one in the bathroom was not working. I would not recommend this accommodation to anyone as it appears that the owner has lost interest in the establishment.

Location

Meeting opur friends from Finland after a number of years had passed!


Harriet Whitcomb, Stella San Martino, Italy - 8th May 2010
Rating

Comment

We arrived and were met by a young man ( a son?) who showed us to our room and handed us two well worn bath towels and gave us keys to get in. We didn't see another person until the next morning. The place is run down but obviously was once a beautiful house. That evening a rather loud bunch of people arrived who woke us up with their voices but also because the plumbing makes a great deal of noise. Breakfast was good, but the owner, who's name we never knew, was a loud, very obnoxious man who told us that he didn't like americans... or the english. I am american and my husband is english. Every other word was a swear and I was very glad that my mother wasn't present. The owner's wife seemed very nice but a bit disorganised. There was no bath mat which made the bathroom floor wet to say the least. The shower was great. the room contained coffee/tea making items, but the kettle had to be plugged in across the room on the floor as there was no outlet near to the dresser. We also had nothing to stir the hot drinks with.

Location

Edinburgh is a great city. We have been there many times before -my first time was 1967. Lady road was busy and one could hear the ambulances during the night. There is a big mall across the street which is convenient for shopping. The bus service was excellent and a good deal -£3 per person for all day. we had previously done all of the 'tourist' stuff. We did go to the botanical gardens which were lovely and it was sunny. The people are friendly and helpful. We ate very well - two places worthy of mention - the Mussel and Steak not far from the royal mile near to the grass market - superb food, excellent staff, great service!!! Saigon, Saigon is a chinese restaurant a block from Princes street - also, great food -best duck I've eaten in years.


Anna Nikiforova, Moscow, Russia. - 7th April 2010
Rating

Comment

Our trip to Edinburgh was fantastic thanks to Ardgowan Guest House. Our room was very tidy, warm and cosy. Morning breakfast was excellent and hearty. The landlady is a very nice woman. So we enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend Ardgowan Guest House to everyone.

Location

Guest House is not far from the main attractions. It will take you about 10 minutes by bus to get to the Royal Mile and the Castle. We also higly recommend to visit Highlands. It is the unforgettable place.


<< Prev. 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | Next > >

Enquiries Contact: Ardgowan Guest House
Your request is sent direct and will be answered shortly.